Learn to Swim

Learn to swim is part of the Athlete Development Support Pathway principles. and encompasses from parents & babies right through to Adults.

The Learn to Swim Framework takes a games-led approach to teaching, providing clear progressive stages.

Learners should be able to swim 25 metres by the end of Learn to Swim Stage 7.



Here’s what you need to know about the Learn to Swim Framework.


Age group

Suitable for children from around the ages of 4-11 years-old


Key focus areas

It consists of Learn to Swim Stages 1-7. The key focus areas of this Framework are:

  • Developing fundamental movement skills
  • Teaching children to swim using the four strokes of front crawl, backstroke, breaststroke and butterfly
  • Fun and enjoyment in the water to help children learn


Corresponding Awards

  • Awards for Learn to Swim Stages 1-7 plus Rainbow Distance and other complementary Awards
  • Teacher qualifications
  • ASA Level 2 Aquatics Teacher
  • Recommended training
  • Fundamentals CPD or Games Led Approach to Learn to Swim CPD


What are the sections of the Swim England Learn to Swim Programme?

  • Swim England Pre-School Framework
  • Swim England Learn to Swim Framework (Learn to Swim Stages 1-7)
  • Swim England Aquatic Skills Framework (Learn to Swim Stages 8-10)
  • Swim England Adult Swimming Framework


What qualifications do I need to deliver the various stages?

  • An ASA/UKCC Level 2 Teacher for Teaching Aquatics is qualified to lead and deliver aquatic sessions
  • An ASA/UKCC Level 1 Support Teacher for Teaching Aquatics is qualified to assist and support a class under the direction of a Level 2 Teacher
  • It is recommended that to deliver stages 8, 9 and 10, a Level 2 Teacher attends the relevant CPD specific to that discipline
  • An ASA/UKCC Level 2 Coach may also deliver stages 8, 9 and 10 in the discipline specific to their qualification e.g. a Level 2 Water Polo Coach may deliver Water Polo Stages 8, 9 and 10



Find a club

Simple Share Buttons