Advanced Equality Standard

Alongside British Swimming, Swim England have been recognised for their commitment to equality, diversity and inclusion.

The Advanced Equality Standard for Sport is a nationally recognised award. The five sports councils (Sport England, UK Sport, Sport Wales, Sport Scotland and Sport Northern Ireland) award it through the Sports Council Equality Group.

It is awarded to sporting organisation that have demonstrated significant progress towards diversity across their staff, board, members, coaches and participants, maintained an inclusive approach throughout the organisations’ functions, policies and procedures as well as developing initiatives to address each protected characteristic.

Jane Nickerson, Swim England CEO, said:

“This is excellent news and one that I am sure you will want to celebrate. I am a passionate believer that everyone should be treated equally and with respect. This process has helped to highlight the progress we have made. It has also shown what more we should be doing to ensure our board, committees, staff and club members accurately reflect those with whom we are working to support and engage in our sports.”


For the full story, please click here.

Find out more about how we achieved the Advanced Equality Standard with our Q&A here.


Find a club

Simple Share Buttons